Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

No. 15 Bethlehem Catholic and No. 22 Central Dauphin Capture PIAA Team Titles

No. 15 Bethlehem Catholic and No. 22 Central Dauphin Capture PIAA Team Titles

Bethlehem Catholic won its first PIAA team wrestling title as the Golden Hawks drilled District 10 runner-up Fort LeBoeuf 38-21 in the Class AA championship match this afternoon at Giant Center in Hershey, Pa.

It was the first team title for a District 11 team since Nazareth in 2007, and the first in Class AA since Northern Lehigh in 2005.

Elliot Riddick’s 17-9 major decision at 160 pounds clinched the title for Becahi. The Golden Hawks posted just one pin — from Darian Cruz (103) — but piled up points with a succession of major decisions and a technical fall from Randy Cruz at 119.

On the adjacent mat, Easton saw its hopes of its first team crown since 2004 disappear under a relentless assault by District 3 champion Central Dauphin. CD stormed past the Red Rovers 36-18 to take its fourth straight Class AAA team crown .

Nazareth battled all the way back from a Thursday night loss to capture the Class AAA third-place spot with a 33-24 win over District 1 champion Council Rock South. Earlier today, the Blue Eagles avenged that Thursday night defeat to Canon-McMillan by beating the Big Macs 33-19 and advancing to the third-place match.

Complete Story

Bethlehem Catholic 38, Fort Leboeuf 21

103 Darian Cruz (Bethlehem Catholic) Fall George Mcguire (Fort Leboeuf Hs) 1:40
112 Zeke Moisey (Bethlehem Catholic) Major Brandon Puckly (Fort Leboeuf Hs) 13-5
119 Randy Cruz (Bethlehem Catholic) TF Jack Middleton (Fort Leboeuf Hs) 15-0; 5:18
125 Jaydon Rice (Bethlehem Catholic) Dec Mitch Kaltenbaugh (Fort Leboeuf Hs) 10-5
130 Richard Cruz (Bethlehem Catholic) Dec Ossie Bowers (Fort Leboeuf Hs) 6-3
135 Riley Smith (Fort Leboeuf Hs) Dec Cody Gonzalez (Bethlehem Catholic) 3-0
140 Ryan Todora (Bethlehem Catholic) Dec Brad Malinowski (Fort Leboeuf Hs) 7-0
145 Kody Pace (Fort Leboeuf Hs) Dec Cory Gonzalez (Bethlehem Catholic) 5-1
152 Kyle Dehaut (Bethlehem Catholic) Major Taylor Fox (Fort Leboeuf Hs) 14-4
160 Elliot Riddick (Bethlehem Catholic) Major Craig Cihon (Fort Leboeuf Hs) 17-9
171 Casey Pace (Fort Leboeuf Hs) Dec Jose Ortiz (Bethlehem Catholic) 9-4
189 Josh Alpha (Bethlehem Catholic) Fall Anthony Rivera (Fort Leboeuf Hs) 3:33
215 Brandon Bradney (Fort Leboeuf Hs) Fall Martin LaLuz (Bethlehem Catholic) 0:27
285 Evan Daley (Fort Leboeuf Hs) Fall Benjamin Bunce (Bethlehem Catholic) 4:32

Central Dauphin 36, Easton 18

103 Jeremy Schwartz (Central Dauphin) Dec Kyle Baker (Easton Area Hs) 7-2
112 Peter Stanley (Easton Area Hs) Dec Evan Davis (Central Dauphin) 5-1
119 Austin Rose (Central Dauphin) Dec Evan DiSora (Easton Area Hs) 2-0
125 Tyson Dippery (Central Dauphin) Dec Robert Rizzolino (Easton Area Hs) 6-3
130 Shyheim Brown (Central Dauphin) Dec Calvin Daly (Easton Area Hs) 2-1
135 Nick Varndell (Central Dauphin) Dec Joseph Rizzolino (Easton Area Hs) 8-5
140 Mitchell Minotti (Easton Area Hs) Fall Matt Lux (Central Dauphin) 5:31
145 Kevin Gooding (Central Dauphin) Fall Anthony Minotti (Easton Area Hs) 5:30
152 Garrett Peppelman (Central Dauphin) Dec Solomon Sohn (Easton Area Hs) 8-3
160 Mason McIntyre (Easton Area Hs) Dec Colton Peppelman (Central Dauphin) 5-2
171 Dorian Spradlin (Central Dauphin) Dec Zachary Bambary (Easton Area Hs) 7-4
189 Kenneth Courts (Central Dauphin) Fall Jose Rotger (Easton Area Hs) 0:44
215 Zak Koller (Central Dauphin) Dec Tyler Greene (Easton Area Hs) 5-3; OT
285 Jalal Paige (Easton Area Hs) Fall Nate Stewart (Central Dauphin) 1:05